Skip to content

Kate’s Korner – The Last Lecture

April 14, 2010
by

This is one of those “check out this YouTube video” blog posts, and I know, there are a million of them out there. I am not usually guilty of this particular kind of post so – here is a little insight into how I use the internet. 🙂

I am a very utilitarian web surfer. I almost always have a specific destination and very rarely take meandering “walk-abouts” that result in discovering videos like this one. I like to stay in my own sandbox most of the time. I am also generally a “hit and run” kind of browser. If it is too long or too involved I am unlikely to dive in unless it is something that I have gone looking for and need or really want to know. Sometimes I wish I were better at finding this cool stuff. I guess I should be happy that I know people who are good at it and can strong arm me into taking the time to check it out.

So, having said all of that – don’t click on this video link if you don’t have an hour to spend watching it.

Last night Bill (my husband) dragged me to the computer to watch this video that he had found. I wound up staying up far too late watching it. It was supposed to just be a quick “preview” and a link so I could watch it later when I had time, but once it started I couldn’t stop watching it.

Randy Pausch Last Lecture: Achieving Your Childhood Dreams

I found the lecture to be very entertaining. Randy Pausch was an excellent speaker and an interesting guy. I was also fascinated to learn about the Alice program that he had helped to develop. It is open source educational software to teach students computer programming in a 3D environment, and before watching this video I had never heard of it.

It is a very cool idea and I love the fact that it is free and open source. I think it is one of those things that it is worth spreading the word about. Education, especially *free* education is awesome. Heck, I want to play with Alice! Like my grandpa used to say, “Once you learn something no one can ever take it away from you.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

