Skip to content

kate’s korner – conversations with my kids – cyber-bullying

June 8, 2010
by

I have the most interesting conversations with my kids. This morning I asked my 13 year old, Karl, “What am I going to blog about today?”

“Mmmmm…how your plan for world domination didn’t work out?” shaking my head

This last weekend we went swimming for the first time this summer. We are lucky in that our house is within walking distance of Bidwell Park. We found a gorgeous spot along the creek deep enough for the boys to swim and with a shallow bank ideal for lounging.

While we were hanging out playing in the water Karl told me about an article that he had recently read about cyber bullying. It made me realize that while every generation has it’s own challenges, my kids really do have a whole worlds worth of issues that I never even had to consider.

I went looking for information later and was stunned by how much information there is out there on this subject. My son only brought it up because of something that he had read, but it lead to a good conversation about choices and consequences, privacy and the invasion of, etc.

I love that I have the kind of kids who think about these kinds of issue’s on a philosophical and ethical level. I love even more the fact that I have the kind of kids who will instigate conversations about them – with me!

Not only was it an interesting and entertaining conversation, but it raised my awareness and made me research something that I might not have otherwise. Contemplating the future generation that my kids will be a part of, and not at all certain that my plans for world domination have failed. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Karl permalink
    June 9, 2010 2:13 am

    My mother is an exceedingly awesome mother.

  2. Kylene permalink
    June 9, 2010 10:29 pm

    Aw shucks. 😉

Leave a Reply

